Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Rosalie Skinner, The Chronicles of Caleath, plus #giveaway





AUTHOR: Rosalie Skinner
SERIES TITLE: The CHRONCILES OF CALEATH
PUBLISHER: Museitup Publishing
BUY LINK:   BOOK ONE EXILED: AUTUMN’S PERIL
GIVEAWAY?: YES… I will give away a copy of EXILED: Autumn’s Peril. Be sure to leave contact information in the comment.



Tell me a little about your series.
The Chronicles of Caleath are made up of eight books following the adventures of a high tech space traveler stranded on a planet where magic happens. His initial quest to return to his home world and extract revenge on his abductor is interrupted as different challenges and destiny complicate his journey.

What gave you the idea for this particular story?
Watching a young adult face chronic illness prompted me to begin writing. Our fascination with virtual reality computer games, reality shows like Big Brother and Survivor, and the ongoing discovery and development of science today provided all the needed material. The Chronicles are a mix of science fiction and fantasy that includes a wide range of topics from nanobots, dragons, clones, to magnetic reversal, volcanoes and slowing currents causing global climate change.

Are you a full-time writer or part-time, and how do you organize your writing time?
I write obsessively when I am writing. At present I am taking time to edit and compile material for my next book.

When did you first know you wanted to be a writer?
Not until I had combed the shelves of the local library and discovered my favorite authors weren’t writing fast enough. I took up the challenge and began writing my own story.

What do you hope readers will take from your writing?
I hope they enjoy the escapism and perhaps take away an understanding of the strength and courage needed to fight chronic illness.

Which genres do you write, which do you prefer, and why?
Science fiction and fantasy have always entertained my imagination. The parameters of storytelling are wider in these genres, but there is still a massive amount of research needed. Thankfully that is a lot of the fun in world building.

What is the toughest part about being a writer and how do you get past it?
For me the toughest part is promoting. When ideally I would rather be in my own world writing, the need to spread the word about the books and create a platform online and locally is daunting but by degrees it is achievable.

Is there anything in your story based upon a real life event? If so, tell me about it.
There are many aspects of the Chronicles influenced by real life events. Being fantasy they are often hidden well in analogies but coping with broken relationships, illness, friendship, responsibility, accepting cultural differences, close encounters with whales and even a near death experience are all in there.

How much is your protagonist like you? How different?
I don’t identify with the protagonist. I am happy at home and non-confrontational. He’s the opposite. Thinking about his character, perhaps I have made him all the things I would like to be and will never aspire to! I can live voraciously though his exploits and adventures.

What kind of research did you do for this type of story?
Research… every aspect of the Chronicles has taken research. One topic involved how nanobots extract energy from cells and their function. Off topic but one of the things I discovered: We will need at least three different types of nanobots to get man to Mars successfully. Recently it was announced that there is a trip planned for 2022. So science fiction is becoming science FACT.

Another enjoyable research project included a trip on a tall ship, and many close encounters with migrating humpback whales.

Nothing about research is tedious. Learning is what drives our imagination.

Do writing violent or highly sexual scenes bother you? Why or why not?
Writing violent scenes do bother me, but I grit my teeth and give it my best shot. History proves Man is capable of far more violence than anything I have written. I leave sex scenes mostly to the imagination of the reader.

What about your book makes it special?
I believe the Chronicles offers readers who enjoy Fantasy and Science fiction an epic tale, situations and developing characters who will remain with them long after they have finished reading.

Where can people learn more about you and your work?

Any tips for new writers hoping to write in the genre of your book?
Keep writing. Learn all you can about the art of writing and apply all you learn to your story. Don’t give up. Most important though; ENJOY what you do.

What’s in the future for you?
Writing, editing, reading, promoting and a little time spent on life in general.

Thanks for having me here today. You have a terrific blog. It is wonderful to be a part of it.





Synopsis:
Caleath’s escape from exile on a backwater planet is within reach until fate forces him to alter his plans.
Driven to a desperate course of action all seems to be falling into place when the machinations of an old enemy thwart Caleath’s progress.
Bargains are made.
Death is avoided.
Despite taking a hostage difficulties escalate with every turn of his journey.
Confronting sorcerers, assassins and a beautiful female complicate his quest. Unless his plan to escape succeeds even those complications will seem trivial.

4 comments:

  1. Thanks for having me here today, Penny.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great interview Penny and Rosalie.
    I guess readers could be excused for thinking Science Fiction and Fantasy might not require research but, Rosalie, you've shown how important it is to get the science fact right so that the fiction is believable. What is special about your books is that the reader can trust the author to deliver believable stories and enrich their own knowledge along the way. Caleath is such a strong character. We look forward to his adventures and heroism book after book. This is a wonderful series.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Magic and space travel. What an imagination!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you Wendy, Suzanne, so glad you enjoyed the interview. :)
    I hope the next book in the series will be out soon. :)
    Magic and space travel, really they mix quite well. :)

    ReplyDelete